Article Image Alt Text

Featured, top row, from left: Former U.S. and Texas First Lady Laura Bush; Sen. Judith Zaffirini, D-Laredo; philanthropist Susan Dell; former U.S. Navy jet fighter pilot Tammie Jo Shults; performer Vicki Carr; U.S. Olympian and world champion gymnast Simone Biles; and Sister Elizabeth Anne Sueltenfuss.

Graphics Courtesy Texas Women’s Hall of Fame

Sen. Zaffirini, six other prominent leaders, to be inducted into the Texas Women’s Hall of Fame

Gov. Greg Abbott recently announced that Sen. Judith Zaffirini, D-Laredo, whose Senate District 21 includes all of Starr County, will be inducted into the 2018 Texas Women’s Hall of Fame, along with former First Lady Laura Bush and five other groundbreaking honorees.

Under the oversight of the governor’s office, the Governor’s Commission for Women created the Hall of Fame in 1984 to celebrate the remarkable achievements of Texas women.

Other inductees are Olympic gymnast Simone Biles; singer Vikki Carr; philanthropist Susan Dell; former fighter pilot and commercial airline captain, Tammie Jo Shults; and former president of Our Lady of the Lake University, Sister Elizabeth Anne Sueltenfuss.

Read the entire story on the e-Edition of our newspaper.

Advance Publishing Company

217 W. Park Avenue
Pharr, TX 78577
Phone: 956-783-0036
Fax: 956-787-8824